String hashInput = null;
    byte[] hashOutput = null;
    byte[] hashBytes = null;

hashInput = String.Format("{0}{1}", devID, Acme.Utility.ByteToHex(devID));
    hashBytes = System.Text.Encoding.UTF8.GetBytes(hashInput);
    hashOutput = Hasher.GenerateHash(hashBytes);
    var = System.Convert.ToBase64String(hashOutput);
    }

This is not on par with clubbing baby seals to death, but why have a separate line of code to declare and initialize a variable, only to unconditionally set it and not check the result a bit later?

I started coding C in 1984, I understand that many programmers are used to seeing all the variables declared at the top of a method or block and feel uncomfortable doing anything else, but I think they ought to get over it. Silly code bloat is, well, silly.

What I'd much prefer is something like:

String hashInput = String.Format("{0}{1}", devID, Acme.Utility.ByteToHex(otherID));

• Agreed. In fact many tools will flag such elements as warnings [and I love "Warnings as Errors"

• I see one reason to split them, and it is a good one.  Thing is, it doesn't apply here.

When using try catch blocks, you want the assignment of the variable within the try, just in case, especially if it is assigned by something other than a simple static value.  You want to declare the variable above the try block.  Here is why:

When a variable is assigned above the try it is seen within the catch and finally blocks for cleanup, setting to nothing if needed, and calling dispose in case of an error.  If the variable is declared within the try block, then it is out of scope in the catch and finally.  So in cases like this you want to declare on one line above the try, but assign within the try.  This does not apply to simple types such as strings or integers or really anything that doesn't need a dispose.

• Or, even better, use using so you don't have to worry about calling Dispose.