Exadata makes me hate Oracle a little less

• We're planning to migrate all our databases onto a new Exadata machine. They've got a copy of the first one up and running now, and wanted me to test it out by chucking a large query at it. (I'm responsible for the BI processes that take data out of this database and put it into our data warehouse.) So I threw one of our change capture queries at it, which normally takes about an hour and a half to run.

It ran it in 2 minutes and 46 seconds.

I can't wait until they get our data warehouse on the Exadata machine as well so we can do a whole nightly ETL and see what kind of speed boost we'll get.

• You speak my language.  ETL, BI, Data Warehouse.  Nice to meet someone on this forum that does.

• I'm not very good at dick jokes, though.

• @Scarlet Manuka said:

I'm not very good at dick jokes, though.
    Well, nobody's perfect.

• Incidentally, we did a test run yesterday of the whole nightly ETL on the Exadata box (that is to say, BI and source databases are both on the Exadata box), and it ran it in 1 hour 19 minutes instead of the more usual 6-7 hours. And that's without any tuning, or even removing the tuning we had in place for the old database. It made me happy for, oh, half an hour at least.

• Well, Oracle are still Oracle, after all. It may have taken a month and a half of running in production to get there, but Exadata is making me hate Oracle again.

To be fair, it's not absolutely certain that it's Exadata's fault, or even Oracle's fault. We upgraded to the Exadata machine and to database version 11gR2 at the same time. And we've only seen the problem in Informatica (our ETL tool) workflows. (Of course, we do much more of those than standalone queries, so that's expected.) So it could be an Exadata thing, an 11gR2 thing, or an interaction of Informatica with either of those.