MySQL indexes/uniques/primary keys

• Hey there.

I'm a 17-years-old developer-wannabe, and I've been toying around with PHP and MySQL for a few years. (inb4 "php/mysql is TRWTF", they're free and widely used in free/cheap web hosts, and well, you have to learn somehow.)

So I pretty much got the concept of primary keys and their uses for unique identifiers a long time ago, which I believe is a good start.

However, MySQL also offers 2 other types of indexes: INDEX and UNIQUE.

I think it's a safe guess to assume these two allow faster access when searching for something that includes them. However, to what extent? When should you use an INDEX or an UNIQUE key? What do they do? What's their tradeoff? What are the main differences between the three?

And when googling it, I mostly find places explaining how to do them, not what they do, so I'm pretty much at loss there.

Anyone? I don't want to make WTF tables that could end up here, so I thought here could be a good place to ask.

• Man, this thread has been up for 2 1/2 hours with no morb to answer.  I think he may have starved to death due to lack of ketchup.

• Don't worry, I had my ketchup dose. I think I'll be able to hold on a few more hours, perhaps even see the light tomorrow; please hurry, though.

• OK, slightly against the tradition of TDWTF, I'll give you a bit of an answer.

In general, table indexes give you much much faster access to the data IF you use the indexed column(s) in your selection critiera. If you have a telephone directory, then it is assumed that you are going to use last name & initials to do the lookup, which you can probably do in say 20 seconds. If someone asked you to find an entry based on street number and street name, then the only way to do it would be to read every single entry in the book until you found it.