MSDN

• I'm a java programmer, I've taken several credits of Java programming and read several of the books for java programming (and threw away one (Java Hardcore, it's crappy and not even correct)). I switched to VB .NET simply to fill the empty class in high school that I'm not allowed to have (sense our school offers (elective wise) Math, ag, and vocational (automotives, keyboarding, Desktop Publishing...), and I have the math). Coming from the wonderfuly easy to navigate and find information Javadocs, I can never find anything in MSDN, never. Sure I can find a few articals on how something works but it's no where near as good as JavaDocs and sometimes (most of the time) down right unusable.

Has anyone else noticed it?

• @malfist said:

I'm a java programmer, I've taken several credits of Java programming and read several of the books for java programming (and threw away one (Java Hardcore, it's crappy and not even correct)). I switched to VB .NET simply to fill the empty class in high school that I'm not allowed to have (sense our school offers (elective wise) Math, ag, and vocational (automotives, keyboarding, Desktop Publishing...), and I have the math). Coming from the wonderfuly easy to navigate and find information Javadocs, I can never find anything in MSDN, never. Sure I can find a few articals on how something works but it's no where near as good as JavaDocs and sometimes (most of the time) down right unusable.

Has anyone else noticed it?

Are you using the online version of MSDN? I can never find anything on the site quickly. I always need the version in the help file. What exactly have you been looking for?

• I use google to search msdn - it works pretty well for me.

• Yeah, I've noticed that as well.  The JavaDocs are excellent; and while I wouldn't say the MSDN is unusable, it is far more difficult to use.