Writing a better test system with Benny (real story)

• This story is about a major 'incident' that I had with another software engineer that I have informally diagnosed with Borderline Personality Disorder. Sorry it's so long, there's a lot of subtext going on so it requires some backstory.

I'm a mid-level programmer at a medium sized publicly owned company with lots of subdivisions. Our subdivisions tend to be fairly isolated from one another, which gives our development team freedom to settle into their own processes. A senior programmer that I work with, Benny, has been working with the company for many years in as sister subdivision to the one I work in. Benny is a fairly skilled programmer, but he has some major personality flaws which can make him difficult to work with. As a real person, there's actually quite a lot to him, so I'll put his short biography in the next paragraph, just in case you want to skip it. Knowing about Benny is not necessary for the story, but it does help foreshadow what's to come.