break;
    	case is_array($json) && is_object(current($json)):
    		$object = current($json);
    		$app_id = $object->app_id;
    		break;
    	default:
    		$app_id = "unacceptable_json";
    }

First WTF, switch (true). OK, I've never done that before, but it does let you avoid writing a ton of if/else if clauses. Maybe if PHP didn't have mixed return types everywhere, this wouldn't be necessary in the first place.

Then I saw the case statements. Apparently, PHP allows you to put expressions in the case statements. I was horrified. I'm mainly a .NET programmer where case statements must be constants.

• Writing PHP for 5 years.. I've never ever been tempted to use a method call in a switch case.

The more you learn about the insanity of PHP.

• Impressive, I did not even know you could do that.  Once I think I have seen the level of crazy stuff people can do with PHP, someone comes along and one ups it.

• @twilsonxpert said:

I'm mainly a .NET programmer where case statements must be constants.

I feel your pain man. I'm a .net dev that took over a PHP project a few months ago... I would have just quit, but it's a really high profile project so I'm doing my best to deal with it...

Just so you know, you can't do threading and there is no equivlent for Server.Redirect !!! The biggest wtf I'm trying to get over is OO in a loose typed language! The only freaking web devs with a good working knowlege of OO decided to apply it in a PHP app that I am now working on... the universe hates me.

• Doesn't this construction just approximate the functionality of the SQL CASE statement?

• @this_code_sucks said:

Just so you know, you can't do threading and there is no equivlent for Server.Redirect !!!
    Do you mean Response.Redirect? If so, you're wanting PHP's header() function.

• @twilsonxpert said:

You're not a VB.Net programmer, then. http://stackoverflow.com/questions/794036/select-case-true

• @Frigax said:

@this_code_sucks said: